Revolectrix "honesty" Dc Ir Meter Review

Discussion in 'Nabils Corner' started by gonehelimad, Jun 13, 2017.

By gonehelimad on Jun 13, 2017 at 6:56 AM
  1. gonehelimad

gonehelimad Active Member

Hey all check out my latest video on my channel

In this video we review the latest "Honesty" Lipo IR Battery meter
    /checker from Revolectrix which is based on providing consistent battery ir readings similiarly to the Wayne Giles checker.

This video provides in depth review and details around the new ir meter

Last edited: Jun 13, 2017

Comments

Discussion in 'Nabils Corner' started by gonehelimad, Jun 13, 2017.

1. smakmeharder

smakmeharder Administrator

Very handy tool. But interestingly which one do you think is the more accurate? There is still roughly 5-10% variation? Nice video by the way.

2. gonehelimad

I hear where you are coming from @smakmeharder .

Far be it for me to comment on the battery from an electrical engineering perspective (i am a mere mech engineer :)), however, the interesting thing is that when i compared a few different batteries on the revolectric ir meter and my icharger, the ir readings are generally less consistent across all cells on the revolectrix meter, but my icharger seems to show ir readings in a more linear / uniform manner. Even for older packs. Perhaps this is a false representation of the actual cell states.

My initial thoughts are that the icharger because it applies a higher charge current to the pack to obtain ir readings (in the case of my video 2C is appied 6.6A, it is potentially giving rise to more uniform readings, whereas the IR meter from Rev. is applying only battery power (ie the battery is not in charge mode or pulsed with as high an amp to obtain the ir readings. So they are potentially truer of the real cell battery state.

Perhaps John Grazo can comment more, however so far i do find it to be indicating slightly higher ir readings to that obtained from both my thunder power and the icharger.